Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU) provides cinematic-arts and creative-media education designed to cultivate talented professionals capable of contributing to Hong Kong’s arts and cultural industries. For the last four decades, the University has been the chief provider of cinema, television and media education in Hong Kong, and currently offers associate, undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes.

As early as the 1970s, HKBU offered Hong Kong’s first film- and video-production course. In the late 1970s, the University created classes in cinema studies designed to develop students’ critical, historical and aesthetic acumen. In the mid-1980s, HKBU was the first tertiary institution in Hong Kong to establish a digital-graphics laboratory.

The Department of Cinema and Television was formally established in 1991. In the same year, a Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) degree in Communication (Cinema and Television) was created. In 2004, a Master of Fine Arts (MFA) programme in Film, Television and Digital Media, the first of its kind in the Greater China region, was established.

In 2009, the Department of Cinema and Television, a subsidiary of the School of Communication, was upgraded and renamed the Academy of Film to keep pace with the rapid development of the media industry in the Greater China region. The establishment of the Academy of Film received substantial support from the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), the Hong Kong Film Development Council and other agents in the film industry. The Academy of Film has since undergone rapid structural development, with the establishment of a Professional Progamme in Film (Higher Diploma), a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) programme in Creative Writing for Film, Television and New Media and a Master of Arts programme in Producing for Film, Television and New Media* in 2009, 2012 and 2013, respectively.

In response to changes in Hong Kong’s academic structure, the Academy’s 3-year Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) programme in Communication (Cinema and Television) was integrated with several media-arts courses in 2012 to give a 4-year Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) in Communication (Film and Media Arts). This reflected the Academy’s movement from specialisation to a more holistic, student-oriented approach to undergraduate education.

Currently, the Academy has more than 700 full-time students, more than 50 teaching staff (including guest lecturers) and 20 supporting staff members.

*Administrated by the School of Communication from 2014 onwards

Academy of Film e-brochure: Please click here