Background & Vision

  Background

The Academy of Film is dedicated to the provision of cinematic-arts and creative media education to cultivate talented professionals capable of contributing to Hong Kong’s arts and cultural industries. For the last four decades, it has been the chief provider of cinema, television and media education in Hong Kong. It is currently Hong Kong’s flagship film school in terms of its size, breadth of programmes, distinguished alumni and strong industry connections.

As early as the 1970s, the Hong Kong Baptist University offered Hong Kong’s first film- and video-production course, as well as classes in cinema studies to develop students’ critical, historical and aesthetic acumen. In 1991, the Department of Cinema and Television was formally established. To keep pace with the rapid development of the media industry in the Greater China region, the Department was upgraded and renamed the Academy of Film in 2009. The establishment of the Academy received substantial support from the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government, the Hong Kong Film Development Council and the Hong Kong film industry.

The Academy currently offers four full-time programmes to over 750 students at higher diploma, undergraduate and postgraduate degree levels including:

  • Master of Fine Arts in Film, Television and Digital Media
     
  • Bachelor of Communication (Honours) – Film Major (with two concentrations)
    • Animation and Media Arts
    • Film and Television
       
  • Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Creative Writing for Film, Television and New Media
     
  • Higher Diploma in Creative Film Production (with five specializations)
    • Directing
    • Script Writing
    • Acting Techniques
    • Cinematography and Lighting
    • Editing and Sound Mixing


The Academy has a strong teaching and research team comprised of more than fifty teaching staff. The expertise of our faculty includes the following areas: film and media studies, film and television production, script writing, post-production, digital animation and media arts.

Besides its first-rate curriculum, the Academy has a strong research profile. In the latest Research Assessment Exercise conducted by Hong Kong University Grants Council, the Academy was ranked highly by the Humanities and Social Sciences Panel.

Over the years, the Academy of Film has established extensive connections with the film industry and attracted first class professionals to serve as advisors. The Academy is also proud of having a list of alumni who are distinguished players in the industry.

  Mission

The Academy of Film strives to broaden students’ academic vision and to equip them with thorough academic and professional knowledge in creating content for screen, through quality teaching, research, and knowledge exchange.

  Vision

The Academy of Film strives to become one of the top film schools in the world, in both research and creative production education.

背景與願景

  背景

香港浸會大學電影學院致力提供優質的影視藝術及創意媒體教育,旨在為本地文化及藝術界培育專業人才。經過四十多年努力,電影學院已成為香港影視及媒體教育中最主要的學府之一,不論在規模設施、課程規劃、校友成就及業界聯繫方面都是香港頂尖的電影學校。

早於七十年代,香港浸會大學已開設香港首個電影和錄像課程,並開辦了電影研究課程,致力培養學生的批判思維、歷史觀和審美觀。至1991年,電影電視系正式成立。面對大中華地區影視媒體產業發展的急速趨勢,電影電視系於2009年升格為電影學院,並得到香港特區政府、香港電影發展局及電影業界大力支持。

電影學院提供五個包括高級文憑、學士及碩士的全日制課程:

  • 電影電視與數碼媒體藝術(製作)碩士課程
     
  • 傳理學學士(榮譽)學位課程 – 電影主修(包括兩個專修)
    • 動畫與媒體藝術
    • 電影電視
       
  • 全球演技(榮譽)藝術學士學位課程
     
  • 新媒體及影視創意寫作文學士(榮譽)學位課程
     
  • 創意電影製作高級文憑(包括五個專業範圍)
    • 導演
    • 編劇
    • 表演技巧
    • 電影攝影與燈光 
    • 剪接與混音


現時,學院全職學生超過750人。師資方面,教學人員(包括客席講師)超過50位,專業領域涵蓋電影與媒體研究、電影電視製作、創意寫作、後期製作、數碼動畫及媒體藝術。

隨了一流課程設計外,電影學院亦具有豐富研究成就。在大學教育資助委員會(UGC)最近公佈的研究評審工作 (Research Assessment Exercise) 中,電影學院在人文學及社會科學小組評級表現優秀。

多年來,電影學院一直與業界保持密切關係,獲得多位重量級影業界人士出任顧問,同時有不少校友亦為業界翹楚。

  使命

電影學院矢志以優秀師資、卓越教學、研究及知識交流,擴闊學生視野,讓學生兼具
學術研究、影視創作及專業製作技能。

  願景

電影學院致力精進學術研究、創意與電影製作教育,立足世界頂級電影學院之列。