Programme e-Brochure

 Introduction

The Master of Arts in Producing for Film, Television and New Media is a taught postgraduate programme launched in 2013 in a one-year full-time study mode.

As the first of its kind in the Greater China Region, the programme aims to meet the escalating demand for the professionals who command high-level of language proficiency with in-depth knowledge and understanding of the film, television and new media industry production process (e.g. planning, finance, project development, producing, distribution, promotion, public relations & marketing and theatre management etc.), cultivating students' creativity, independent thinking and operational skills.

Graduates of the programme are equipped to be employed in management positions related to contracting, producing, promotion, distribution, marketing, and exhibition in the field of film industry, television, and new media in Hong Kong, the Greater China Region and around the world.

The programme has been selected for sponsorship under the Targeted Taught Postgraduate Programmes Fellowships Scheme. This scheme, offered by the University Grants Committee (UGC), provides fellowships for local students pursuing designated taught postgraduate programmes. The main objective of the scheme is to attract more meritorious local students to pursue further studies in priority areas conducive to the development of Hong Kong.

 

 Message from Director

I hurriedly took over the position of the programme of MA in Producing for Film, Television and New Media starting December 2020, following the departure of Professor Man Shu Sum. Over the years, my work in the field of film education has covered teaching, curriculum coordination, supervising student works, community promotion, etc. Now, I have been overseeing the management of the programme and overview of operations. Together with your support, I promise my commitment to sustain what our programme stands for, a special place which upholds trust in the possibilities of film education.

The current COVID-19 crisis has cast its huge shadow over the film industry and teaching, and we too have been forced to cancel a part of planned film learning events over the past two years or so. Our programme is particularly rooted in a web of friendships and collaborations with cinema and culture partnerships across Hong Kong and beyond. Thus, we feel these times of unpredictable future demand that we, more than ever before, support each other, share ideas, and find slow but sure ways to break through these dire straits.

In the new academic year, we will continue to offer diverse and complete training subjects, including planning, financing, project development, producing, marketing, and distribution etc. Through intensive study, students may not only gain a solid theoretical foundation, but also learn the experience and latest information from industry professionals and experts.

In 2022, let’s keep being optimistic and positive, and thank the "Goddess of the Cinema" for making us meet!

 

YING Liang

Programme Director

课程小册子

 课程简介

「影视与新媒体制片管理文学硕士课程」于2013年起开办,是一年制的全日制修课式研究生课程。

本课程是大中华地区首个为满足香港与国内市场对影视与新媒体制片管理人才庞大需求而设立的课程,致力于培育更多具高水平语文能力及对行业有深入的认知的媒体营运管理人才。本课程的学生均会接受全面及多元化的课程培训,包括影视新媒体策划、融资、项目开发、制片管理、行销、宣传、市场、戏院管理等,致力培养学生的创意、独立思维及营运能力。

毕业生能熟习影视与新媒体业内的商业运作环境,掌握市场对创意产品的需求。毕业生可在本港、大中华地区以及海外地区从事影视与新媒体相关的管理工作。

本课程获批指定研究院修课课程奖学金计划。此计划由大学教育资助委员会 (UGC) 开设,为在修读指定研究院修课课程的本地学生提供奖学金。计划的主要目的是吸引更多优秀的本地学生于有利香港发展的优先范畴深造。

 课程主任寄语

我于2020年底,在文树森教授离职后,匆匆接下影视与新媒体制片管理文学硕士课程主任的职务。多年来,我在电影教学领域所从事的工作,涵盖了授课、课程协调、指导学生作品、社区推广等。如今,我承担了影视与新媒体管理课程的运营和管理的责任。在诸位的支持下,我承诺,我将致力于保持本课程所代表的意义,令这个年青的课程,继续拓展电影教学的更多可能性。

当前的疫情,对电影业和教学都投下了巨大阴影。过往的两年多,我们不得不取消了部分的教学活动。我们的课程,特别根植于电影工业环境,与香港及其他地区的电影文化、工业的合作伙伴及网络,非常紧密。因此,在未来不可知因素越来越多的状况下,我们比以往任何时候都更加需要互相的理解、支持和想法的分享,以找寻更多信念和方法,来面对和处理当前及未来的困境。

新学年,我们将继续提供多样而完整的训练科目,包括影视新媒体策划、融资、项目管理、制片管理、行销、宣传等。通过紧凑的学习,同学不但可能获得一套坚实的理论基础,且将获得来自业界专家的经验及最新资讯的分享。

2022,让我们继续保持乐观和积极,并感谢「电影之神」令我们相遇!

课程主任

应亮